Deakin University » Communities »

A view to lead India: who are the candidates?

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

India will go to the polls from April 5 to May 12 to choose between three party leaders for its next prime minister. The first is a seasoned politician and three-time chief minister, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP, or Indian People’s Party) Narendra Modi. The second is a youth icon without experience in governance, Indian National Congress’ Rahul Gandhi. Finally, there is a former bureaucrat and utopian visionary who resigned from the post of chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal.

The main party players

The battle to form government is between party alliances: theUnited Progressive Alliance led by Congress, the National Democratic Alliance led by BJP, the Third Front led by the Communist parties, and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).



Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)